[Dshield] Someone is looking for formmail.pl script...

Eric Rosander erosander at matrixns.com
Thu Aug 23 17:03:05 GMT 2001

I see these pop up every once in a while.  But I do seem to have a high
volume this morning in my logs.  587 attempts from

-----Original Message-----
From: dshield-admin at dshield.org [mailto:dshield-admin at dshield.org]On
Behalf Of miroslaws at home.com
Sent: Wednesday, August 22, 2001 2:26 AM
To: dshield at dshield.org
Subject: [Dshield] Someone is looking for formmail.pl script...

Somebody is scanning domains and try to find existance of CGI script
formmail.pl If the script exists, than the information is e-mailed to
address woah at aol.com . In the below log the 'xxxxxxxxx.com' it is the domain
hosted by one of my web servers. I had to hide the real name of the domain
because of my confindentiality agreement. - - [15/Aug/2001:20:58:22 -0700] "GET
/cgi-bin/formmail.pl?email=itp642 at mek869.com&recipient=woah at aol.com&subject=
%20valid.%20~vms HTTP/1.0" 404 0 "-" "-"

Best Regards,


Dshield mailing list
Dshield at dshield.org
To change your subscription options (or unsubscribe), see:

More information about the list mailing list