[Dshield] A question.... :(

Johannes Ullrich jullrich at euclidian.com
Thu Jan 23 00:48:34 GMT 2003

In 'english', it says that this mail server received an email from 
''. However, it rejected the mail message because it 
found this mail server in a relay blackhole list (relays.osirusoft.com).

This is a quite common check. We use a similar check for our DShield 
e-mail. It cuts down on spam somewhat. resolves to n1.grp.scd.yahoo.com, which looks like a legit
yahoo IP/host. Not sure how they made it in this particular block list.

On Wed, 22 Jan 2003 18:37:14 -0500
"Karen" <karenj at worldlynx.net> wrote:

> I've just received a second message from Yahoo Groups in the span of about a week, and I don't understand it.  Could someone tell me what it means, please?
> >>host said: 550 5.7.1 Mail from refused by blackhole site relays.osirusoft.com<<
> I figured if anyone would know it would be this group!
> Thank you!
> Karen 

jullrich at euclidian.com             Collaborative Intrusion Detection
                                         join http://www.dshield.org

More information about the list mailing list