[Dshield] Interesting New/Old scam

Shawn Cox shawn.cox at pcca.com
Wed Jun 18 22:13:26 GMT 2003

I got this very message today as well.  It looks very authentic, and I have
to admit my heart skipped a beat because I do have a bestbuy account.  The
thing that tipped it off though was that the listed link doesn't match the
linked URL and so the "instant fraud" bells strated going off.


----- Original Message ----- 
From: "John Dalton" <dubuque_1 at msn.com>
To: "General DShield Discussion List" <list at dshield.org>
Sent: Wednesday, June 18, 2003 4:24 PM
Subject: [Dshield] Interesting New/Old scam

> Don't know how new. Seems to be along Paypal lines, interesting that it
> links eventually to a instant credit report site. I can attach if anyone
> wants to see personally. I also at least tried to find a fraud department
> bestbuy, but suprisingly most contact is web forms. I can see non
> users going for this as well
> Thought you might get kick out of first paragraph
> >>Dear customer,
> >>
> Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card
> information.
> This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/17/2003.
> Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need
> you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you
> confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct
> information.
> This e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.
> _______________________________________________
> list mailing list
> list at dshield.org
> To change your subscription options (or unsubscribe), see:

More information about the list mailing list