[Dshield] *.blue.aol.com

Joel Esler esler at knology.net
Sun Oct 31 20:28:17 GMT 2004

You know, I just looked through all of my logs, and I am getting 
scanned constantly by blue.aol.com too.  Yes, i run instant messenger, 
but I have that filtered from my logs.


On Oct 26, 2004, at 21:44, Johannes B. Ullrich wrote:

> Are you using AOL instant messenger? Or maybe a dynamic IP address?
> I think *.blue.aol.com are the AOL IM servers.
> On Tue, 2004-10-26 at 19:48, Laura Vance wrote:
>> Hello,
>> For the past couple of weeks, every few days I get a bombardment of
>> packets submitted to DShield from *.blue.aol.com.
>> On the 22nd, the number of packets total was 45688, when my typical
>> submission is about 3000 packets.
>> Has anyone else seen traffic like this from that network?
> -- 
> Johannes Ullrich                     jullrich at euclidian.com
> contact: http://johannes.homepc.org/contact.htm
> _______________________________________________
> DShield and the Internet Storm Center are sponsored by the SANS 
> Institute.
> To learn more about current SANS training, see http://www.sans.org .
> _______________________________________________
> send all posts to list at lists.dshield.org
> To change your subscription options (or unsubscribe), see: 
> http://www.dshield.org/mailman/listinfo/list

More information about the list mailing list