[Dshield] Spam 101 Question

Ed Truitt ed.truitt at etee2k.net
Sat Aug 6 14:01:47 GMT 2005


If you are using the SMTP server that comes with IIS, it is known to be "insecure by default", and so it being an open relay doesn't surprise me a bit.  I would STRONGLY recommend you get another SMTP server (sendmail is available for Windows) and configure it securely.

-----Original Message-----
From: "thomer" <forum at dshield.org>
Date: Sat, 6 Aug 2005 01:45:34 
To:list at lists.dshield.org
Subject: Re: [Dshield] Spam 101 Question

Hi Jeff,
  You might want to check your email server, according to DNSREPORT your mail server is an open relay.  Can you check your queues?  People may be relaying spam through you:

WARNING: One or more of your mailservers appears to be an open relay. If so, this means that you are allowing spammers to freely use the mailserver to send out spam! It is possible that your mailserver accepts all E-mail and later bounces it, or accepts the relay attempt and then deletes the E-mail, but this is not common.
WARNING: mail.gpl.org appears to be an open relay: 250 recipient  ok 

The above is right from their site.  It probably has nothing to do with your scripts and more to do with the fact that your email server is not properly configured.

This message was sent via the web forum at

send all posts to list at lists.dshield.org
To change your subscription options (or unsubscribe), see: http://www.dshield.org/mailman/listinfo/list

-E D Truitt

Sent via my BlackBerry from Cingular Wireless

More information about the list mailing list