[Dshield] Is there any malicious activity at the macrumours.com address?

Robert Greenough robert.greenough at gmail.com
Fri Jun 26 12:19:30 GMT 2009

Hi Adrian,

The site isn't listed as malicious by Google, McAfee, or Symantec (take that
as you will...grain of salt perhaps?).  There is a redirection to
macrumours.com:81 but no malware that I can see.


On Thu, Jun 25, 2009 at 3:22 PM, Adrian Hawkins <Adrian.Hawkins at bi-lo.com>wrote:

> Hi all,
> I'm a noob to this list, as well as security. That is why I am asking you
> knowledgeable folks.
> I was trying to get to the site macrumors.com last night, but typed in
> macrumours.com instead. As soon as I went there, my firewall alerted me
> that the site was trying to access port 81. I closed the window as soon as
> I could. I'm running the No Script Firefox extension. I did a virus scan to
> be safe. It didn't return anything, but I'm still worried.
> Could a computer be compromised by visiting that site? Does it look to be
> distributing any malware? I appreciate any help.
> _______________________________________________
> Dshield mailing list
> Dshield at lists.sans.org
> To change your subscription options (or unsubscribe), see:
> https://lists.sans.org/mailman/listinfo/list
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.sans.org/pipermail/list/attachments/20090626/ed6506cc/attachment.htm 

More information about the Dshield mailing list